Posted by: scottishboomerang | August 15, 2007

Apparently I am an Orthodox Quaker…

It’s a difficult thing to imagine since I am a bit of a warrior intellectually and (if it wasn’t for the dyspraxia), I would be a fairly adept martial artist. However, I did the Belief-o-matic test and out I came…I’m quaking all over the place. On the other hand, I am

Quaker Lady

very similar to the Quakers I know. Though I never asked them, I suspect that the Friends committment to non-violence was more a rejection of the potential for violence rather than what we think of as pasificism.  The quiz has in fact got me fairly accurate – I am conservative in my theology and am attracted to the intense beauty of liturgical traditions, and I see myself as a blend of Christian traditions.  73% Sikh? My Indian pals will never let me live it down, they always said I looked like “Punjab the Flower” in a salwaar kameese.If you want to take the test, go here.

1.  Orthodox Quaker (100%)
2.  Eastern Orthodox (92%)
3.  Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (92%)
4.  Roman Catholic (92%)
5.  Seventh Day Adventist (87%)
6.  Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (86%)
7.  Sikhism (73%)
8.  Orthodox Judaism (69%)
9.  Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (63%)
10.  Liberal Quakers (62%)
11.  Islam (60%)
12.  Hinduism (60%)
13.  Bah??Faith (60%)
14.  Reform Judaism (55%)
15.  Unitarian Universalism (52%)
16.  Jehovah’s Witness (45%)
17.  Mahayana Buddhism (42%)
18.  Jainism (41%)
19.  Theravada Buddhism (40%)
20.  Neo-Pagan (37%)
21.  Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (36%)
22.  Scientology (31%)
23.  Taoism (29%)
24.  New Age (28%)
25.  Secular Humanism (26%)
26.  New Thought (25%)
27.  Nontheist (18%)
Responses

  1. what is Orthodox Quaker…???

  2. Click on the link above, Beliefomatic does a nice job of explaining it. Basically – mainstream Christian denomination which has a strong social justice and anti-violence outlook. You usually find Quakers involved in social justice, antinuke, and the antiwar movement, and they are well respected in business. Not a bad bunch. They are also known as “The Society of Friends”.

  3. I too have found that according to the Beliefnet test, I am an Orothodox Quaker. I was shocked. Never in my wildest would I have thought of myself as a Quacker. When I called one of my sons, who is a Christian pastor and told him, he amazingly said it didn’t surprise him at all.

    I then had to find out what beliefs of the Orothodox Quaker I shared and I have to say it is amazingly accurate. I’m still trying to digest it, and just maybe this is why I always feell so out of place in this world.

  4. I too have found that according to the Beliefnet test, I am an Orothodox Quaker. I was shocked. Never in my wildest would I have thought of myself as a Quaker. When I called one of my sons, who is a Christian pastor and told him, he amazingly said it didn’t surprise him at all.

    I then had to find out what beliefs of the Orothodox Quaker I shared and I have to say it is amazingly accurate. I’m still trying to digest it, and just maybe this is why I always feell so out of place in this world.

  5. I think all those who believe feel out of place in this world. Anti-intellectualism and anti-clerisim seem to go hand in had while everyone is looking for the lastest thing. I do feel at times what will happen to people during the second Great Depression (though they are Euphamistically trying to call it the “credit crunch” when so many define themselves soley by what they can consume.

  6. gasp!! i did it too and it said i am an orthodox Quaker too and I’ve been raised catholic so now i think i might change my religion…


Leave a Reply

Categories

